Overlay | VanRoey.be

Microsoft forces multi-factor authentication (or conditional access) on its users

In order to increase the security level of its users, Microsoft has recently started with the phased implementation of "Security Defaults" in Microsoft 365 environments. This new security standard has already been applied to new tenants (business environments in Microsoft Azure) since last year. The use of Multifactor Authentication is mandatory and Legacy Authentication (a collection of old protocols) is blocked.

Now that the news about the Microsoft Security Defaults is becoming more and more known, more and more questions arise about its impact. High time to clarify this!

Azure AD Security Defaults

We have been saying for years that passwords are rarely secure. Phishing and keylogging are common methods used by hackers to get hold of passwords. To increase the security level of its users, the company is implementing some stricter security settings in its Microsoft 365 environments. The use of Multifactor Authentication or Conditional Access will become mandatory. Legacy Authentication (an outdated login protocol) will be deactivated and replaced by Modern Authentication.

What changes when?

  • New tenants: Security Defaults are now automatically activated
  • Existing tenants: environments without Security Defaults that no using Conditional Access are automatically converted in stages

Note: Customers without an Azure AD P1 licence are not able to activate Conditional Access and are by definition converted. This licence is included in several bundles including Microsoft 365 Business Premium or Microsoft 365 E3/E5.

Impact Security Defaults

For customers who belong to this second category, the new Azure AD Security Defaults will soon be activated automatically. In concrete terms, this means that tenant administrators (Global Admins) will be asked to activate the "Security Defaults" function in the Azure AD environment during the login process. This can be postponed for a maximum of 14 days. If this does not happen, the function will be activated automatically by Microsoft.

What is the impact on users?

  • Multifactor Authenticationfor all users required - there are no exceptions. Without proper communication beforehand, it is therefore possible that users will 'suddenly' no longer be able to log on.
  • Legacy Authenticationis blocked for all users - There are no exceptions here either. Most e-mail programmes make the switch from Legacy to Modern Authentication flawlessly. If users still report problems, manual intervention is necessary.

As an organisation, you had better be well prepared! Without taking the right measures in advance, users 'suddenly' run the risk of experiencing login problems. Therefore, do not hesitate to contact us if necessary.

Contact form

vat no.*

"Without the right measures in advance, users are at risk of 'suddenly' experiencing login problems. Therefore, do not hesitate to contact us where necessary."
Review webinar
Discover how Microsoft Intune in combination with the Belgian Scappman can take the installation and updating of software out of your hands.

Written by:

Jente Vandijck
Microsoft Solution Architect

As a certified Microsoft Azure Solution Architect, Jente knows the Microsoft Cloud like no other. To satisfy his technical hunger for knowledge, and to share it with the outside world, please visit his blog AzureScene.

Related info

Or visit webstore.be to find and order products

Our Solutions

Overlay | VanRoey.be

Microsoft impose l'authentification multifactorielle (ou accès conditionnel) à ses utilisateurs

Afin d'accroître le niveau de sécurité de ses utilisateurs, Microsoft a récemment commencé à activer par étapes les paramètres par défaut de sécurité dans les environnements Microsoft 365. Cette nouvelle norme de sécurité est déjà appliquée aux nouveaux locataires (environnements commerciaux dans Microsoft Azure) depuis l'année dernière. L'utilisation de l'authentification multifactorielle est obligatoire et l'authentification ancienne (une collection d'anciens protocoles) est bloquée.

Maintenant que la nouvelle concernant les défauts de sécurité de Microsoft est de plus en plus connue, de plus en plus de questions se posent quant à son impact. Il est grand temps de clarifier cela !

Valeurs par défaut de la sécurité d'Azure AD

Nous répétons depuis des années que les mots de passe sont rarement sûrs. Le phishing et le keylogging sont des méthodes courantes utilisées par les pirates pour récupérer les mots de passe. Afin de renforcer le niveau de sécurité de ses utilisateurs, l'entreprise met en place des paramètres de sécurité plus stricts dans ses environnements Microsoft 365. L'utilisation de l'authentification multifactorielle ou de l'accès conditionnel deviendra obligatoire. L'authentification ancienne (un protocole de connexion obsolète) sera désactivée et remplacée par l'authentification moderne.

Qu'est-ce qui change quand ?

  • Nouveaux locataires : Les valeurs par défaut de sécurité sont désormais automatiquement activées
  • Locataires actuels : les environnements sans défaut de sécurité qui pas de utilisant l'accès conditionnel sont automatiquement convertis par étapes

Note : Les clients sans licence Azure AD P1 ne sont pas en mesure d'activer l'accès conditionnel et sont par définition convertis. Cette licence est incluse dans plusieurs offres groupées, dont les suivantes Microsoft 365 Business Premium ou Microsoft 365 E3/E5.

Impact des valeurs par défaut de la sécurité

Pour les clients qui appartiennent à cette deuxième catégorie, les nouveaux paramètres de sécurité par défaut d'Azure AD seront bientôt activés automatiquement. Concrètement, cela signifie que les administrateurs de locataires (Global Admins) seront invités à activer la fonction "Security Defaults" dans l'environnement Azure AD lors du processus de connexion. Ce délai peut être reporté de 14 jours au maximum. Si ce n'est pas le cas, la fonction sera activée automatiquement par Microsoft.

Quel est l'impact sur les utilisateurs ?

  • Authentification multifactoriellepour tous les utilisateurs requis - il n'y a pas d'exceptions. Sans une communication préalable adéquate, il est donc possible que les utilisateurs ne puissent plus se connecter "soudainement".
  • Authentification héritéeest bloqué pour tous les utilisateurs - Ici non plus, il n'y a pas d'exception. La plupart des programmes de courrier électronique passent sans problème de l'authentification ancienne à l'authentification moderne. Si les utilisateurs signalent encore des problèmes, une intervention manuelle est nécessaire.

En tant qu'organisation, vous avez intérêt à être bien préparé ! Sans prendre les bonnes mesures au préalable, les utilisateurs risquent de rencontrer "soudainement" des problèmes de connexion. N'hésitez donc pas à nous contacter si nécessaire.

Formulaire de contact

n° de TVA *

Sans mesures préalables appropriées, les utilisateurs risquent de rencontrer "soudainement" des problèmes de connexion. N'hésitez donc pas à nous contacter en cas de besoin."
Séminaire web de révision
Découvrez comment Microsoft Intune, en combinaison avec le belge Scappman, peut vous débarrasser de l'installation et de la mise à jour des logiciels.

Écrit par :

Jente Vandijck
Microsoft Solution Architect

En tant qu'architecte certifiée Microsoft Azure Solution Architect, Jente connaît le Cloud Microsoft comme personne d'autre. Pour satisfaire sa soif de connaissances techniques, et pour la partager avec le monde extérieur, veuillez consulter le site son blog AzureScene.

Informations connexes

Ou visitez webstore.be pour trouver et commander des produits

Nos solutions